Staff Profile: Alexandra Tingle

0
898

Department:

Administration

Job title:

Administration Coordinator

What is your main task in the office?

I am the first point of contact for USDF. I answer incoming calls and direct phone calls according to member needs. I assist the Administration Manager with various tasks related to the department. I also facilitate all aspects of gift giving to USDF.

Members may call you concerning:

I receive various questions regarding USDF and the sport of dressage. Inquiries that I am unable to answer are transferred to the appropriate staff member for further assistance. I also may receive calls regarding gift giving options to USDF, especially for Circle of Friends and Finals Patrons.

How long have you been with USDF?

I started at USDF in July of 2018.

How did you get started?

I wanted a job that would give me an opportunity to grow and learn.

What is the favorite part of your job?

I enjoy customer service and helping others, including my co-workers.

What is your favorite part of USDF?

I admire that USDF is always making the sport of dressage fun, interactive, and fresh. There are so many opportunities to grow and learn for everyone in the dressage sport, as well as many goals to accomplish. From competing to judging, USDF provides all the resources one needs to succeed in the sport of dressage.

Share a little about yourself.

I was born and raised in the central valley of California. Though I lived in the city, I was surrounded by agriculture and plenty of horse ranches. My mother’s love of animals, especially horses, stirred my interest as a young child. I quickly grew a passion for horses and their ability to not only learn but to teach. I was hooked. I began helping my mother at a ranch in my early teens, where in exchange for my mother and I cleaning stalls, I began riding lessons.

My parents bought me my first horse when I was a freshman in high school after working hard to finish all my CHA level lessons. He is a big, handsome leopard Appaloosa/Warmblood gelding named Aragorn. In typical Appaloosa fashion, he is a giant ham and loves attention. He has more personality than some people. Also, he is a ‘dressage drop out’ as he didn’t quite fit the bill as a dressage horse, which I find ironic. When my parents purchased Aragorn, I did not own a saddle, so I did a lot of bareback riding. Aragorn and I connected immediately upon our first meeting and have been bonded ever since.

Over the years, we have enjoyed Western riding, some English riding and jumping, and trail riding. However, I enjoy our casual bareback rides the most. He will be 27 years young this year, and still lives out in California with my parents. I will be forever grateful for all the care and love that my parents continue to provide for him.

After graduating high school, I spent three years at my hometown junior college. While I was working part time, completing my general education, and trying to decide on a career path, I earned AS degrees in Agricultural Business and Animal Science. In 2012, I moved to Kentucky to attend Morehead State University’s Veterinary Technology program to pursue my love of horses in the medical field. Morehead State University (MSU) has a nationally ranked Veterinary Technology program that offers a Bachelor of Science degree. At the time, no schools in California offered such degree. While earning my degree at MSU, I worked in both equine and small animal medicine. I graduated from MSU as a Licensed Veterinary Technician with a Bachelor of Science in Veterinary Technology. After graduation, I continued working in equine medicine, but then moved to small animal medicine for two years.

Mid 2018, I decided it was time to find a job where I could grow and learn that was not so mentally, physically, and emotionally demanding. USDF has given me the opportunity to be involved with horses and learn and grow in the sport of dressage. Although it was a difficult decision to leave veterinary medicine, it has proven to be for the best. However, I still maintain my veterinary technician license and keep up with the industry.

While attending MSU, I met my husband who is a born and raised Kentuckian. He was part of Morehead State University’s Equestrian Team, where he focused on the reining discipline. We both share a love for horses and hope to someday have some horses on our farm. For now, we currently have three dogs, three goats, and one cat. We grow various types of pumpkins, corn for fodder shock, and Indian corn on our farm for fall décor sales. We sell our goodies to our local community, as well as to our family and friends!

Leave a Reply