The History Behind the Regional Championships


The following is an excerpt from the Spring 1993 USDF Bulletin

In 1985, USDF Region 4 organized the first USDF Regional Championship. With each passing year, additional regions have chosen the championship format as a way to determine and recognize the best riders in the area while building enthusiasm for dressage.

Hilda Gurney riding Cabriolet at the 1995 ABIC/ USDF Region 7 Dressage Championships

In 1992, seven USDF Regions held USDF Regional Championships—Regions 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, and Regions 1 and 7 also hold “regional championship” shows (the Ljungquist Finals and the CDS Championships), but they aren’t called “USDF” regional championships. This article goes on to tell of a need to standardize the qualifying criteria and basic organizaition of all USDF Regional Championships. The first championships using this criteria started in 1994. In 2005, Great American Insurance Group came on as title sponsor and the championships have continued to thrive.

Used on the cover of the January 2007 issue of USDF Connection magazine, this photo was from the 2006 Great American Insurance Group/USDF Region 2 Championship. Major, ridden by Rosemary Julian-Simoes, won the First Level Freestyle and 2006 USDF vice president and current USDF president, George Williams, won the Grand Prix championship riding Marnix.
Bob Tarr photo.

(Disclaimer: USDF strongly recommends all riders wear protective headgear when mounted. Photos appear in a historical context.)

Leave a Reply